Cozy Kitchen Blog Train

Welcome to my stop on the Pixel Scrapper September 2018 “Cozy Kitchen” blog train! The previews I’ve seen of the blog train look great, we’re all going to have plenty of material to scrap our food and cooking stories for a long time to come. I’ve made a minikit for you today, as well as a coordinating bundle available on Pixel Scrapper. I just loved these colors, they were so delightful to design with!

Cozy Kitchen is in many ways an homage to my first ever blog train, which was the first time I created scrap designs to share with others. That month, February 2013, the Pixel Scrapper blog train theme was Retro Kitchen. I was only doing Project Life/pocket scrapping at the time, so I made a ton of different journal cards – all card designs that I wanted to use in my personal scrapping – and a bunch of papers. I had such a magical time creating for that blog train, inspired by the color and theme, bursting with ideas, and very supported as a budding designer by Marisa’s generous Pixel Scrapper terms of use and all the tutorials and CU paper templates and textures she shared on the site. The phenomenal vintage graphics site Graphics Fairy was another amazing resource, and for that blog train many of us ended up using the same adorable retro kitchen graphics in our creations.

Those Retro Kitchen journal cards and paper packs are still one my most downloaded freebies. The rounded corners on the cards look dated to me now and I’m not sure how useful they’d be for modern scrapping, so I’ve wanted to do a square-corner update for a while (you can always make square JC corners round by clipping to a template, but you can’t add back square corners to round cards!).

As tends to happen when I fall in love with a color palette, and as tends to happen even more when we’re throwing anything vintage or shabby or retro into the mix, designs just started fountaining out of me! What started as a little update turned into a full-blown bundle, referencing most of those journal cards and papers from the original but then adding more papers, more cards, and, now that I actually scrap traditional layouts as well as pocket pages, a ton of elements and word art for scrapping any sort of page. I ended up deciding to offer a minikit for the blog train, with a little bit of everything.

Blog train freebie links only stay up for the month of the blog train (though you can still find older blog train goodies if you explore the blog). My Cozy Kitchen Minikit is no longer available here on the blog – you can now find it at Pixel Scrapper.

Free Cozy Kitchen digital scrapbooking minikit by Scrumptiously at Pixel Scrapper

I think the minikit stands alone beautifully (seriously how yummy are these colors??) and it also serves as part of a larger bundle stuffed to the gills with pocket cards and fun kitchen-related elements and word art. I’m a little in love with the cozy little oven mitts, aren’t they sweet? The bundle includes the mini, a full traditional scrapbooking kit with papers and elements, a big pack of shabby patterned papers (I love having lots of extra papers to play with), and several packs of journal cards. There are journal cards in both white and kraft, and both go beautifully with the kit colors.

And here’s a bit of inspiration from my fantastic creative team!

Good Side by Bina Greene using Cozy Kitchen kit for Project Life, pocket scrapping, digital scrapbooking by Scrumptiously at Pixel ScrapperFrench Fries by Emily Silverman using Cozy Kitchen kit for Project Life, pocket scrapping, digital scrapbooking by Scrumptiously at Pixel ScrapperBURP by Paddy Wolf French Fries by Emily Silverman using Cozy Kitchen kit for Project Life, pocket scrapping, digital scrapbooking by Scrumptiously at Pixel Scrapper

Nutrish by Bina Greene using Cozy Kitchen kit for Project Life, pocket scrapping, digital scrapbooking by Scrumptiously at Pixel Scrapper

Be sure to check out the rest of the Pixel Scrapper blog train to see all the wonderful offerings. You’ll be covered for kitchen layouts for years to come!

12 thoughts on “Cozy Kitchen Blog Train

Share your scrumptious thoughts, darling