Introducing the new Scrumptiously Hybrid Scrapper!

Wow, wow, wow, this is so super exciting! I have found the perfect hybrid scrapper to add to the Scrumptiously creative team.

My intention in seeking out a hybrid scrapper for my team was pretty straightforward. I would like my designs to be useful to hybrid scrappers. And whether that entails thinking when designing about colors and textures that will look best when printed, offering ideas for creative paper projects that can be made with Scrumptiously products, or simply showing off how beautiful a Scrumptiously hybrid project can be, it’s an area where I have next to no experience.

That’s why I’m thrilled to announce that Dana Desmond will be joining the Scrumptiously Creative Team as our Hybrid Scrapper! She has tons of experience as a hybrid scrapper, card creator, and artist. Check out some of her work at her blog, Dana’s Imagination Creations. Dana has a wide-format printer (I think that’s what they’re called) which means she can even print full 12×12 papers! Very cool.

And now this is what you have to see. It’s just… there are no words. (But I’m me, so I’m gonna try πŸ™‚ ) Dana made a “hybrid mini album” using my digital scrapbooking bundle Already There. It’s pretty mind-blowing. She first made digital layouts in Elements, printed those out, then used her Silhouette to print and cut additional elements, glueing those on to the printed pages and adding dimensionality to each page. My head is kind of spinning, it’s just so cool – you have to see! She’s made a video showing the album page by page, and you can also check out this post on her blog where she goes into detail about her process.

Welcome, Dana!

So hopefully I’ll be steadily ramping up what I think of as my “hybrid inclusivity” now that I have Dana on my team. It may take a little while though before you start seeing signs of it. I’m gonna get real with you all for a minute here – you may have noticed it’s mostly been radio silence from me lately, both in terms of blog posts and new design releases. Making Already There was one of the most fulfilling creative projects of my life, but at the end I pulled TWO all-nighters in a row – not in order to finish the kit itself but to do all the other stuff, the previews, the marketing copy, the renaming, the zipping, uploading, tagging, etc. As someone with energy and fatigue issues, that was beyond pushing it, and I burned myself out to the point that something broke in me – my drive, my motivation, my spark – that needs some time to be repaired.

I had intended for Documentarian to be a monthly offering, inspired by so many of the amazing monthly Project Life subscriptions out there. But I overestimated my capacity, especially as my other career is just starting to take off. I still love designing, I just need to go more slowly, and adjust my pace to nurture the burnt-out part of me that desperately wants designing to go back to feeling like a joy rather than an obligation.

There’s so much I want to do – so many blog posts I have in my head, freebies I still haven’t posted for you guys, kits I want to make, designers I want to collaborate with, areas I want to get better in (using a tablet and using real-life art materials are the big ones currently). But here I am in the ironic position (and I recognized this even while it was happening) that Already There, my beautiful kit about slowing down, not pushing, taking care of ourselves, was the project I burned out on.

Already There journal filler cards by Scrumptiously at Pixel Scrapper

I have a lot of compassion for myself – this is a totally new venture, and it will take me a while to learn how to pace myself. I also think (and maybe this is projection, who knows) that I am over on the slow end of the spectrum when it comes to my speed and facility with design. I think I often do things the long way, and everything I make involves learning a ton of new techniques that need to be experimented with and perfected before I can move forward with a high-quality final product. So I generally feel like it’s okay for me to simply do the best I can. It’s just hard to feel like I’m letting you down somehow, letting Pixel Scrapper down…

I don’t have any answers to any of this, just the willingness to stay with this experience and continue to move forward as mindfully and lovingly as I can. What comes will come, and the best I can do is greet whatever emerges with kindness and flexibility. I’ll keep you posted! πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Introducing the new Scrumptiously Hybrid Scrapper!

  1. I’m glad to see the new post and design. Please do not feel like you are letting anyone down. Everyone faces different learning curves and different learning styles and many times, as you have shown, the lessons that ensue are multiple, whether about design technique or learning to pace oneself, for example. I am still working on getting some art supplies and my hand has been on ice this week due to repetitive stress, so I am having to slow down which is something that isn’t easy. I have no choice, so doing this as cheerfully as I can manage. Take solace from the fact that you do beautiful work.

  2. You may chuckle at this…Today, I went online looking for card making supplies and thinking that it might be fun to make some even though I’m not particularly crafty with objects…Unfortunately, after visiting Amazon, Loves Rubber Stamps, Stampinitup and scrtapbooking.com, I was so totally overwhelmed…I was looking for some basic, not too kiddy stuff and have no idea where to start…

    Do you have any suggestions? Thanks…Have to rest my hand a bit now. Hope you are enjoying the afternoon.

    • I haven’t ever made cards (except super simple ones) – you might try posting this question over at Dana’s blog, which I link to above. She is an incredible card maker and might have a notion of what would be some good beginner supplies.

      I TOTALLY identify with you on the research-overwhelm! It has been the death of many a project before they ever got off the ground :p

      • I will try that. Thanks. I just ordered some stuff from Amazon, too. If you would like a basic card, drop an email with info…Since you were part of my wave of inspiration here, along with a certain mutual friend, the first homemade card is yours.

Share your scrumptious thoughts, darling

