Pixel Scrapper October Blog Train ~ Thankful

You know that thing where you write a word over and over and at some point it starts to look like it’s spelled wrong, and then eventually it doesn’t even look like a word anymore? Well, my brain thinks “thankful” is just about the strangest collection of letters it has ever beheld! I’m looking forward to having a little distance so I can get back to appreciating the word, which does express, after all, one of my most beloved concepts.

original_palette

Blog train color palette

This month’s Pixel Scrapper blog train is quite dear to my heart for several reasons. For the first time, I proposed a potential color palette, and when we voted it was the one chosen, which was very exciting! I love the richness of the colors, and the way they evoke harvest and bounty without screaming “Thanksgiving.” We wanted to create a collection that honored the theme of the holiday while still being useful for everyone who doesn’t celebrate Thanksgiving. I’m glad about that because thankfulness is so much bigger than a single holiday (not even getting into the issues with historical distortion and whitewashing that accompany our American Thanksgiving). Gratitude is such a core concept in my life. When I manage to connect to my sense of all that is right in my world, either through happenstance or through deliberate manifestation with mindfulness or prayer, I find my life is infinitely sweeter and less stressful. Right now I’m feeling grateful to have had the opportunity to make all these pretty things for you!

PSOct13_scrumptiously_thankful_preview

I’m continuing my habit of breaking up my contribution into separate pieces. The advantages for me are that I like knowing you can take the things you want and not have a bunch of stuff you’re not interested in that you have to then remember to delete later (yes, journal card junkies, I’m looking at you!), and that doing it this way allows me to see what types of materials you like best (because I can track the number of downloads for each piece). A potential disadvantage I can see for people who do want everything is that then they have multiple folders, palettes, previews, and TOUs they’ll have to delete if they want everything all tidy and streamlined. If you have a strong feeling either way (all one big download or separated by type) let me know in the comments!

Up first are a set of papers, frames, and mists. There are four papers that would make good starting points for art journal pages and four frames that will add an arty touch to any page. All the materials I used are credited in the kit, but I have to give a special shout-out here to Cajoline Studios, who made and then generously gave away the gorgeous frame templates. They fit so perfectly with the sort of dreamy, swirly look I was going for here. The frames are actually quite a bit larger than they appear in the preview. I like to have things large and then shrink them down as needed, since you can’t ever upsize design materials. The five mists are pretty fun – they’re 12×12 overlays that will “stencil” a misted pattern onto whatever is below them. I used the diamond patterned mist to make one of the journal cards below – check it out! [Click preview to download.]

PSOct13_scrumptiously_thankful_papers_preview

Then there are two sets of journal cards; each set is a separate download. There are some fun simple cards with gratitude words on them, and an assortment of various more elaborate designs. I even threw in the flower I made for one of the journal cards (in a larger size, of course). I’m not much of an element-maker, but I figured since this one was already made I might as well add it to the mix. I’m sorry there’s not much in this month’s kit that’s okay for Commercial Use – I have too much fun playing with all my CU materials that are only for making PU stuff – the simple wordy journal cards are the only things that can be used for CU. [Click previews to download.]

PSOct13_scrumptiously_thankful_jc_words_previewPSOct13_scrumptiously_thankful_jc_preview

Finally, I present to you my first-ever word art. I’m not really a word art person – I tend to make my own titles, quotes, etc. so I don’t find much use for premade ones. But the topic was so inspiring to me I thought I’d try my hand at bringing a few of my favorite gratitude quotes to life. I had fun with these; I like the Oprah Winfrey quote with its ransom-note-like lettering – it makes me imagine the person saying “thank you for that experience” through slightly gritted teeth! And the gorgeous wings evoke so much for me around this theme – the sense of being borne up by a power greater than myself, and the image of my own gratitude soaring out into the Universe. They’re not technically word art, more… “image worth a thousand words” art. 🙂 [Click preview to download.]

PSOct13_scrumptiously_thankful_wordart

The blog train is huge this month! Over 30 contributors at last count – there’s sure to be something for everyone. You can find previews and links for the rest of the train at Pixel Scrapper.

So, please enjoy! I’ll be so delighted if anything I made can contribute to your expressions of gratitude and thankfulness. If you do end up making something using any of my designs, do let me know, I would love to see it!

39 thoughts on “Pixel Scrapper October Blog Train ~ Thankful

  1. Pingback: Thankful Label Project Life Journaling Cards Freebie | [ One Velvet Morning ]

  2. Pingback: Pixel Scrapper "Thankful" Blog Train - October 2013 |

  3. Violet, you have outdone yourself. So much prettiness, I don’t know where to look first or what to snag first! I don’t mind the separate downloads and I totally understand wanting to know what is most popular with your viewers. It’s very easy to delete extra previews and TOU’s . . . I can’t imagine anyone minding such a small thing. I love the spray effect on the papers and frames and the word art is gorgeous and clever. Thanks so much for sharing your time and talent with us. It is much appreciated.

  4. Beautiful kit. Separate downloads are okay with me. I appreciate your addition to the blog train and look forward to using them in the near future.

  5. Pingback: September Favorites | Scrumptiously

  6. Wow, you did an amazing job as usual, Violet – tyvm! I always find your parts of the blog train/hops to be very creative & unique, and I really like that. I also appreciate the smaller downloads, too, as sometimes (for whatever reason) my high speed internet crawls & large files fail in the d/l process. My 16 y.o. always blames that on our neighbors – he’ll often yell “the service is creeping tonight …. they must be streaming ‘Netflix’ movies again…” LOL

  7. Gorgeous… Just gorgeous!!! The colors, the frames, the papers, journal cards… The whole kit is wonderful!! Thank you so much for sharing your hard work!!!

  8. I’m really late coming to this train, but just wanted to say thank you for your contribution. The journal cards were my favourite, and I loved the quotes you chose for the wordart.

  9. Pingback: Pixel Scrapper’s October Blog Train – Thankful | The Quirky Nester

Share your scrumptious thoughts, darling